What Is The Ashes?

Australia travel to England next summer to take part in the Ashes which is the biggest test series in world cricket and England will be looking to regain the Ashes they lost in Australia last year. The venues for the 2015 Ashes series are Lords, The Oval, Trent Bridge, Edgbaston and the Swalec stadium.

The first Ashes tournament was held in 1882 at the Oval and Australia have won thirty two series, England thirty one and five series have been drawn. Don Bradman has scored the most runs with over five thousand and Shane Warne has taken the most wickets with one hundred and ninety five.

The winning team receives the famous Ashes urn which is just six inches tall and is rumoured to contain a burnt cricket ball. However even though Australia won the last Ashes series the urn stays in the MCC museum at Lords in London although it has been taken to Australia twice, once is 1988 and once in 2006.

It is held every two years and the series is played over five test matches. England won the ashes the last time it was held in England but in Australia last year England were thoroughly outplayed and Australia ran out five nil winners.

The series next summer is expected to be a closer favour with Australia starting slight favourites. The first test match takes place at the Swalec stadium in Cardiff, the second match takes place at Lords, the third test at Edgbaston in Birmingham, the fourth test at Trent Bridge in Nottingham before the final test which is being held at the Oval.

We have a range of packages to all the test matches ranging from private pitch facing boxes, shared restaurant facilities with guest speakers and cheaper marquee packages. The roof terrace at the Oval has to be one of the best hospitality facilities in world cricket.

Anyway I hope we have given you a brief insight into the Ashes and we look forward to seeing at one of matches next summer.