History of Formula 1

Lewis Hamilton has had another good start to the season and is already the clear favourite to retain the World Championship in 2015.

He won the Chinese Grand Prix today which has extended his Championship lead to thirteen points over his Mercedes team mate Vettel, with Rosberg in third place.

F1 Grand Prix racing started in 1906 and today attracts A list celebrities who can often be seen watching the races from the super yachts in Monaco to the various Team Paddock Clubs.

Ever since 1950 the Drivers’ Championship is awarded to the driver who accumulates the most points throughout the season – winning a race gave drivers ten points up until 2010 when this was changed to 25. The first winner was Giuseppe Farina.

Lewis Hamilton won the Championship last year and in doing so became the ninth Briton to win the Championship with the last British winner being Jenson Button in 2009. Michael Schumacher, who many people consider to be the greatest ever driver, has won the title a record seven times and won five in a row from 2000 to 2004.

The youngest champion was Sebastian Vettel who was just twenty three years old when he won it in 2010, the second youngest was Lewis Hamilton who won it in 2008 also aged twenty three. The oldest driver was Argentina’s Juan Manuel Fangio was forty six when he won it in 1957.

Ferrari has won the most constructor championships with fifteen wins with McLaren in second place with twelve wins. By constructor nationality The United Kingdom has won the most with thirty seven wins, Ferrari the most engine wines with fifteen and Goodyear is the leading tyre manufacturer with twenty four wins.

We hope we have given you an insight into the history of Formula One and its winners and it looks like this year Lewis Hamilton could well win his third Drivers Championship.